At the TrackJConcepts Events CoverageRace Results

2019 Super Cup Championship Series – Race 1

Heading into it’s 11th year, the 2019 Super Cup started off with some great racing, great people and successful return to SS Hobbies & Raceway.  Race 1 of a new year always starts off with the awards banquet to celebrate the previous years racers and their accomplishments.  Good food, a few laughs, trophies and giveaways from our series sponsors always makes for a fun evening to celebrate the previous year and kick off a new season.

This year we held the banquet at the track, something we haven’t done since the 2011 awards banquet at Bashers RC Raceway.  SS Hobbies & Raceway has the perfect setup and was the host of the 2018 season awards banquet this year.  With a new location and a new host, Leon McIntosh, it was another successful awards banquet celebrating all the racers who completed the series in 2018.

The 2019 season kicked off on Saturday, with new announcer, Dave Duncan.  A few issues with the decoder box had us starting late but once the program started we had a great day of racing.  Ronnie Setser and his crew at SS Hobbies always goes out of their way to offer the best track layout and conditions and this weekend was no different.  A great new layout and perfect conditions along with amazing Florida Winter weather, even after a late start, everyone seemed to have a great time.

The Novice group would kick off the Amain’s on Saturday.  Josh Rowe would be our Top Qualifier and Josh would go on to win the Amain followed by Taylor Brown in 2nd and Reid Schaeffer would finish 3rd on the podium.  The Novice Open results can be found HERE.

Next up would be the Independent 17.5 Buggy Amain.   Joey Andre would be our Top Qualifier for the day but Joey would end up finishing 5th overall.  John Manikis would start 2nd on the grid and ran a clean race finishing 1st overall.  Kevin Castillo would finish 2nd and Chris Navarrete would make his way up the 3rd after starting 8th on the grid.  Final results can be found HERE.

The 13.5 4wd Buggy Amain would be up next.  A very popular class in 2018, this year seems no different with some great competition.  Ryan Harris would be our Top Qualifier and other than a slight mistake around lap 7, Ryan would lead the entire race finishing on the top step of the podium.  Alfredo Morales would make his way from 4th on the grid to finish in 2nd and Jader Lopez would be close behind in 3rd.  Final results for 13.5 4wd can be found HERE.

Independent 17.5 SCT would be up next.  There are only a few that are still around and have raced the series since its inception, it was great to see Tracey Proctor, Jeff Lynn and Harold Thomas on the podium together.  Jeff Lynn would be overall TQ but it would be Tracey Proctor finishing first, followed by Jeff Lynn and Harold Thomas in 3rd.  See the results HERE.

A new class for 2019, the 4wd Truggy Modified class is exciting to watch and should be another popular class going forward.  In its first official race at the Super Cup it would be Robert Romano starting first on the grid and finishing 1st wire to wire.  Son Anderson would work his way from 4th to finish 2nd and Alfredo Morales would round out the podium finishing 3rd.  Final results can be found HERE.

Another popular class, 13.5 Stadium Truck, had some great racing this past weekend as well.  Alex Mac would set TQ but would go on to finish 3rd overall.  Shaun Morrow would battle his way up from 5th to finish 2nd overall and it would be Kenny Setser taking the overall win.  See the final results HERE.

The Expert 17.5 Buggy would be up next.  Brad Nicosia would be the Top Qualifier and Brad would go on to win overall, leading from tone to tone.  Climbing his way up from 6th on the grid, Ryan Harris would finish in the two spot and Trent Walker would make his way up from an 8th place start to finish 3rd overall.  Final results can be found HERE.

Independent 17.5 Truck would be up next.  Kevin Castillo would set TQ and finish 3rd overall.  Tracey Proctor started 3rd on the grid and made his way to finish first overall followed by Jeff Lynn in 2nd.  See the final results HERE.

The big boys would be up next in 2wd Buggy Modified.  Lee Setser would set TQ for the day and the top 3 in Mod Buggy would finish where they started, tone to tone.  It was Lee Setser in 1st, Daimon Borkowicz in 2nd followed by Jason Ruona in 3rd.  Final results for 2wd Mod can be found HERE.

Although it’s not an official class for 2019, the demand is still there at some tracks for 4wd Short Course Modified.  Alex Mac would be the Top Qualifier and finish in 1st a lap over the field.  2nd place would be Matthew Paulins followed by Robert Diamond in 3rd.  See the final results HERE.

Our “seasoned” racers would be up next in the 40+ 2wd Open class.  Our announcer, Dave Duncan would set the pace and take the Top Qualifier spot.  Dave would go on to finish 1st followed by 2018 class champion, John Prickett and  John Manikis in 3rd.  Final results can be found HERE.

The final race of the day would be our 4wd Buggy Modified class.  Daimon Borkowicz would be Top Qualifier and lead the Amain from tone to tone.  JR Mitch would finish 2nd and Ryan Eckert would round out the podium in 3rd.  Final results for 4wd Mod can be found HERE.

A big thanks to our series sponsors for their support… JConcepts, Team Associated, TLR Racing, Trinity, A Main Hobbies, Protek RC, Reedy, Lunsford.

Race 2 heads south to Coral Springs Raceway on February 2nd.  We hope to see everyone back for another great day of #RedHot racing.  #LetsRace!